Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

Old Skool

I tried to find something today to represent Black Friday, but was singularly uninspired. Perhaps because Black Friday is clearly a thing, and it probably oughtn't to be a thing, and my psyche is telling me to to do something else instead.

So I ended up just shooting something black, and this was close at hand. This is the last vinyl release that I actually had a hand in, nearly 10 years ago. Shocking how quick time flies. 

But this blip is also partly inspired by the fact that vinyl records seem to be making a determined effort to get back into our hands, having never really left our hearts. It seems every day I hear about a new record getting a vinyl release alongside more current media formats, and this is (on the whole), a good thing. Don't know how long it'll last, but while it's happening, it's fun to see. 

I still have a fair collection myself, but actually have no way of playing any of them, my last record player being lost in a move many moons ago. Maybe I'll ask Santa if he has anything for me this year.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.