Bach in the Back Row

It's the fate of the second sopranos to sit at the back of the choir both in rehearsal and performance. Three of us in particular.

So here we are again with the main concert of the year, which this evening will be the Bach Mass in B Minor. A truly marvellous work, with trumpets and timpani as well as woodwind, strings and a harpsichord for the continuo.

My husband has preferred to go watch Leicester City vs Manchester United. When I asked the kids, they asked me if I would go to a Slipknot concert, such is their lack of esteem for sublime music.

Anyway, I was pleased to get through the rehearsal after a very uncomfortable night with a stomach bug and am looking forward to the concert.

I am stood next to the second basses. I must be careful to keep up concentration. They are rather loud, and if I lapse, it's all too easy to lose my place in the score.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.