An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

By Jove I think we've got it!

This real fire thing...another beauty this evening.  

David is quite chuffed at how quickly he has learned the ritual of making and setting a fire, bringing it to life and keeping it alive then clearing away the cold ashes in the morning.

It is such a heartwarming ritual and one that takes me straight back to my childhood when I used to watch my Grandpa following the exact same procedures.  

My whole childhood is so tightly wrapped around the whole process of making, tending and clearing a fire that as I sit and watch David, I am 9 years old again and waiting patiently with the toasting fork and sliced bread to make toast for my supper.

We're burning logs but being from mining stock, my childhood fires were fuelled by coal that was delivered regularly and shovelled by the bag load into the coal cellar.   I was always fascinated by the coal cellar door on the side of the house that opened to reveal this large space full of coal and coal dust.  In all my years I only ever dared stick my head in.  It was too dark, cold and scary to step inside.

Before we had central heating, there was even a coal fire in my bedroom and some of my fondest childhood memories are of being mesmerised by the shadows the flames made on the walls and ceiling in the dark as I struggled to stay awake to watch them.   

One of the funniest memories I have is playing in my room one summer's day with my favourite doll (Tiny Tears) and a strange noise coming from the chimney (the fire wasn't lit.)   As I leaned over to investigate further I got the fright of my life when what looked like a squawking fur ball flew past!  Of course it turned out to be a bird!  I don't know who was more surprised, it or me!

I was delighted.  A pet at last!  Sadly my mother wasn't quite as pleased as me when she came to investigate my excited squeals and discovered the bird circling the room leaving droppings everywhere!  I think it wasn't long after that the fireplace was blocked!

A million memories have tumbled into my head this evening triggered by the warmth, the flames and the smell; that unmistakeable smell of a real fire.  

In other news, we have surpassed ourselves regarding the Christmas decorations.  Not only did we store them by room, but David took photographs of all the rooms last year whilst they were decorated, so all he had to do was unpack and position as before.  No arguments or fighting over what went where!  First year ever it's not almost ended in divorce!  :-))

Tree to do tomorrow and the decs are done!

And whilst he was doing that, I finished off the rest of the Christmas shopping (well apart from two small gifts and some stuff for Alan). 

I think that deserves a wee Baileys on the rocks :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.