Capital adventures

By marchmont

Photo of a photo

A deliberately low key day to catch up on stuff and life, the lull in the eye of the storm. I started with a long lie and a chat to J. Then a day in the kitchen processing the unused contributions to last week's extravaganza. So now I have Thai coconut and pak choi soup, mango ice cream and strawberry and mango juice. I also made apple crumble and started off a second Christmas pudding mix, using up the Marsala and some Port instead of stout.

Checked the hyacinths, ordered a lap tray (for same day delivery!), Dysoned, bought a belated birthday present from a list, renewed a registration and caught up on 3 weeks HIGNFY and 'Antiques Roadshow'. The latter made it feel like Sunday night. Luckily, as it turned out, a forgotten password meant I had to check my junk folder and sitting there was a batch of emails sent over a week from ebookers to inform me my return flight next May had been changed and that no response would mean no booking. An immediate phone call ensued and it looks like I'll be back a day early on the usual early morning Saturday flight. But, they have my phone number, why no call, or text, when I did not reply? Did they just think I couldn't be bothered?

And I took the opportunity of #2 son's continuing absence to take some grainy pics of #1 son at much the same age Olivia is now, including the ones of the day he took his first steps, 3 July 1983. This is us at Dunnottar Castle that summer. I was 30 and a half (!) and the photographer 28, a bit younger than the respective 34 and 33 (and a half) of Olivia's parents. The pics of pics have been emailed to #1 d in l now. Nothing like embarrassing your kids!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.