Shropsiren

By shropsiren

the difference a day makes

This is little girl I picked up from the safe house a few days ago. On the occasions I  saw her at the safe house she never smiled and always looked sad. Now she has been united with her older brother and sister at the Restart children's centre. Today I saw her there when I was giving a tour of Restart to a visitor. She greeted me at the entrance and held my hand the entire time I gave the tour. I then spent an hour in the nursery with her and she spent the entire time either sitting on my lap having a cuddle or in hysterical laughter when I tickled her. She has really settled in and has completely changed from a sad child who never smiled, to a chatty, smiling and laughing girl. Another special moment I will cherish from my volunteering. 


Tonight I had a night out in Gilgil with the two gap volunteers and a few of the Restart staff. Lots of alcohol, dancing, handstands and even the splits were involved. Stayed out until a ridiculous hour,  but fun was had by all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.