Clodagh Fanned The Flames

MrQ, Jazzy dog and I had a burn-up today with Clodagh whistling through the trees and fanning the flames. We love bonfires as did my mother-in-law. She liked nothing better than a bonny, as she used to call it. 

My MiL didn't like windy weather though, it used to put her in a foul mood. Some people do seem to be affected by the wind. There's an east wind called The Levanter that blows in Southern Spain where my son lives and he says that it affects some locals very badly. 

I love windy weather, particularly when sailing, I'm a heavy weather helmswoman, I love burying my lee rail. :) The peasant poet John Clare loved the wind too. I read this recently. "John Clare wrote a number of poems expressing an intense pleasure in windy weather. Perhaps the wind had an animistic quality for him, and turned into some elusive, energetic and unpredictable creature which could excitingly be traced through its effects on other living things – the birds, trees, and mammals which are painstakingly observed in so much of his poetry. " 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.