Bull-Necked Finch

Another glorious sunny morning here in Essex, very cold though. I took lots of frosty shots and a couple of steam rising from the pergola and the roof of the shed as the sun heated them up.

Whilst down the field I glimpsed a bird in flight with a characteristic white rump. I've heard a melancholy "phew phew" for a few days. I was now sure that the bullfinches are back. :)

These finches are quite shy so when I spotted one on the way back to the house at the wrong aspect for a decent shot I wasn't confident of it remaining while I repositioned myself. I stalked round the oil tank and it was still there catching the sun beautifully. What a joy to see and to capture it.

My blip in the bag I could concentrate on making mince pies for my granddaughter and her friends and my son in Spain. I've made ten dozen to my usual frangipane-topped Richard Bertinet recipe. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.