WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Throwback

... to the 1970s. S told me he was creating a pastiche of a Spanish salad, and when I saw it I had to agree. It's very typical to present a large plate of "artfully" arranged mixed salad (usually involving tomatoes, sweetcorn, and tuna) for everyone at the table to share as a first course. Unlike in France, it never has dressing on it -- each person has to manipulate oil and vinegar as best they can on their plate. We decided it deserved a bit of 70s-style food photography (nothing to do with the fact that I hadn't taken a single photo today).

This is a version of the salt cod and orange salad I mentioned on Friday. The bacalao is not cooked, just soaked for two days, and then boiling water is poured over to soften it a bit more. It's only viable with the thickest, whitest salt cod. If you can't get or don't like salt cod, here's a version with avocado replacing the bacalao.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.