Estate Life

Just how much fun can a girl take! Back to Enniskeane and the very helpful Geraldine, who was very impressed at how quickly we had agreed upon the curtain fabric (just for you Grace, a pic in the extras, Ottoman Flowers!). Handing over the credit card with gritted teeth, it should arrive within the week.  Not only that, I then had to continue to Bandon to see if any books had been sold in various book shops. They had! Much chat, payment extracted and new copies left. I then treated myself to an unexpectedly good bagel (avocado and mozzarella) - unexpected because I didn't think Iiked bagels.
Business achieved, a wee treat was in order and I drove off towards the Bernard estates within which lurks a huge and impressive ruin Castle Bernard , once home to Lord Bandon, a wealthy landowner back in the day. There are many No Trespassing signs and rumours that her Ladyship, who lives somewhere within the walls,  can be fierce. It looks like the only way you can get access is by playing a round of golf for the green passes in front of the old house. I have never played golf in my life but nearly asked a group of ladies wearing reindeer jumpers if I could join them. Maybe I could tag along as a caddy? I fear I would get easily and quickly distracted. Plan B.
However, I did have a little lurk around these very pretty houses which were built as workers' cottages for the estate. I loved this delapidated one - just looks at those windows. In the extras you can see one that's still being lived in. And there's even one for sale  for a cool 235,000 euro.

Back home and Himself had been tackling the woodworm. The suspect panel is off and stuff has been injected. The smells are all a bit heady in the sitting room at the moment.

Looks like my Derelict Sunday offering sorted. Don't forget we're in DS7 now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.