The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

A short history of....

Dymo labels! Read about it on the fabulously-named Cable organiser.com if you want the hard-nosed facts. What I first recall about Dymo is a sludge-green personal printer with a rotary click dial that printed personalised labels on to hard plastic sticky tape. The sort of thing that was useful in, say, 1973, when I was getting ready to go to boarding school for the first time. (The seventies were coloured sludge and chocolate brown, not orange as many people now imagine. Boarding school was blue, and stank of disinfectant).

I tried to stay up all day today, but it only lasted five and a half hours. I got very cold, and decided I preferred being at least semi-recumbent. During the being-up bit, I suddenly remembered that I have a modern-day Dymo printer that CleanSteve bought me about ten years ago, when my aromatherapy potions business was going strong. Nowadays I only make products to order. However, I had to label some catalogues and cards that I'll need very soon, and I'd left it a bit late for VistaPrint, so hey ho.....

My laptop screen is now cracked right across, so that makes it a little harder to design labels. However, several hours later, the whole flipping pile of products was good to go. After that, I applied online for my visa for Sri Lanka (yes, you heard me right!) and then applied all over again when I took too long over the credit card bit.

Then I made some toast and went back to bed. Tomorrow I must try to go back to work. I couldn't have done a whole day today, but could manage a few hours tomorrow, I hope. The drugs are working in that I am no longer in pain, but my energy levels have not sykrocketed as I'd hoped. I guess I'm a cock-eyed optimist when it comes to recovery time! http://youtu.be/p0DusO6ipLw

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.