Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Patient...

We are still in waiting mode with Charlie's urinary tract issues.  A call to the vet today was useless since the culture isn't yet growing anything.  We made the decision last night to stop the pain meds since the side effect was that he wasn't eating or drinking.  And I've read enough about urinary issues in cats to know that he needs to take in fluids.  He is still turning up his nose at the prescription food the vet recommended, but at least he's eating his "old" wet food with a fair amount of gusto.  And he's drinking water.  Since we stopped the pain meds, he's very playful and much more sociable, even rousing himself to chase Phoebe upstairs today.  

I must say that I am not very good at waiting.  I am, by nature, a problem solver meaning that I always want to find and implement solutions.  Having to wait is stressful, to say the least.  And it's making me a little cranky too.  Which makes it a good time to pick up a camera and shoot some photos.  Charlie and Phoebe both had to endure me creeping around on the floor after them, aiming for just the right angle and shot.  This particular photo was taken as Charlie was halfway up our stairs, with the hallway railing behind him.  I fiddled a bit with it, doing some  selective color and tweaking the exposure in LR and PS Elements.  I like the alert expression on his face, almost as if he's asking me what the hell is taking so long...

Phoebe is featured in today's Extra shot...

Hubs left around noon today, meaning that he won't get into AL until late tomorrow afternoon/evening.  A long couple of days for him, unfortunately.  And, as always, I miss him.  The house feels strangely empty, with just the cats and I rattling around.  I'm not motivated to go to the store, so I think I'll just make a big bowl of popcorn for dinner tonight.  Hey, it's fiber!

Thanks for sending good thoughts to Charlie - and please keep them coming.  Maybe a little "hurry up juju" towards the lab that is doing his culture too?  

Cheers...
Debbi

PS:  Nikon already has my D750 and hopefully they'll get to the bottom of the shutter problem quickly.  Meanwhile, I am switching back and forth between the 300 mm and 105 mm lenses with my D600 body.  Once the D750 is back, I need to send this body in for a cleaning.  I'm chicken to try cleaning the sensor myself.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.