More socks

I was surprised to find this pair of socks under the bed with Benedict. I didn't know they were missing.

I've had a moment of doubt with Benedict today. He is a skitterish wee soul, and of course he isn't Wilson. I know that, but I came up against my own sense of disappointment that I'm not always able to read him correctly or get my response right.

I found myself wondering if Benedict and I will work out. It wasn't a pleasant thought. Then I found myself thinking he's only been here 2 weeks. In that time he sleeps on my bed and doesn't jump off it quite as often.

Sometimes he rubs noses with me, sometimes he likes to be patted, and other times he bites, or pulls away. I can see he wants to trust but it's a long road requiring much patience.

Sometimes Benedict comes downstairs to find me. He still feels safest upstairs. Tonight he came down and then freaked out at the telly. I don't think I've had it on since he arrived. I felt so sad for him that he doesn't understand or know a TV won't harm him.

It doesn't seem fair that the small and vulnerable, human or animal, in our world can be so mistreated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.