Scrapbook Saturday - "Fighter" (?)

Today my "Scrapbook Saturday" challenge is "Fighter".

My Editor helped me to dig out this rather worse-for-wear Airfix model of a Bristol Blenheim fighter-bomber, as used in WW2. (I only know what it is because we still have the box!!). One of our sons made the model about 20 years ago; unfortunately it never got painted but I've tweaked the colour from grey to a slightly more acceptable pale green.

I hope it looks a bit as if it's been caught in the floodlights during a nocturnal mission (thanks to Google Images for the background!).

(The first model plane we came across was a Tornado Bomber - very topical at the moment - but it doesn't quite qualify as a "fighter" in the strict sense, and anyway it's falling apart even more than this one. However even this one probably qualifies for tagging for "Derelict Sunday! - it only has one wheel [not that you can see that on the photo] and the right-side propeller is broken").

PS Alan Woodley has kindly corrected me (see below) that the Blenheim was in fact a "Light Bomber" rather than a "Fighter Bomber". Oh well, so much for trusting the info on the Airfix box! However I guess a bomber is involved in fighting the enemy so I won't worry too much!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.