Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Throwing caution to the wind?

Today was the last rugby match of the season, so my last rugby photo until next year (some of you may be sighing with relief!) Blustery does not begin to describe just how windy it was - funny how we have had such pleasant and above-average temperatures all week and yet every Saturday  when we are watching rugby it is extremely windy and cold. The U15C team in which Thomas plays won 42-0, a good end to the season.

Instead of blipping another action shot, I chose this image of the boy throwing the ball into the line-out as I thought it was symbolic of us blippers and what lies ahead regarding the future of Blipfoto. We have all seen the exciting news about the four blippers who have had the initiative to do something about saving Blipfoto. Initially when I saw the Blipfoto journal entry about this I barely read it, as I have long ago lost faith in the current management/shareholders of Blipfoto. However, when I realised who the team were behind this, and having had the privilege of meeting two of them, I am totally committed to whatever they are proposing as I know they will do their best for this community and if it fails it certainly won’t be through their lack of trying. So, throwing caution to the wind, like this boy battling the elements today,  I have pledged as I have every confidence in the Blipfuture proposals and the team behind it.

 It was lovely to come home from the concert last night and see Adam – who is looking tired and thinner (he lost 5 kg in a week when he was ill). It was a very late night as we helped him unpack all his stuff from university, do a few loads of laundry, and then re-pack as he left this morning on the university ski trip. To have 3000 students descend on the quiet ski resort of Val Thorens in France must be a nightmare for that little town. He left with my instructions ringing in his ears – make sure you get enough sleep, don’t drink too much, you don’t want a relapse…yes, mum, yes mum. I am appalled at how much these university students drink – let’s hope he will be sensible. He has been given 160 hours of university work to do over his 5 week Christmas holiday, and that is huge amount of work to get through if you take out this skiing week and Christmas from his holiday time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.