THE DOG WITH A BIG STICK

I saw him (or her, I am not sure, I could have asked her/his mother) from far carrying that enormous stick. Camera ready for the moment he would come near us. His owner walked with big steps and greeted us and smiled at me, because she could imagine so well my pleasure in taking photos of her dog. He had been jumping twice in the river, she said. And it was in the water where he had found the stick.
As we talked, the dog (why did I not ask his name?) began chewing at the stick and now and then looked up, almost smiled to us and went chewing again.
It had been almost 3 pm when Piet Hein and I had gone for our walk.
The Sunday had slowly gone through our hands and minds before our walk.
I have come halfway in commenting and thanking yesterday night. So I will quickly start again.

My haiku:

Hello hello dog
You look so full of energy
On your Sunday walk

And the proverb:

When two Sundays come together (meet).

1616  Haughton,  Englisman for my Money.

When two sundays meet = never.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.