In Which Mother Nature Decks the Halls

We had a tremendously strange and interesting weather event on Sunday morning. A freezing fog settled over central Pennsylvania, and we awoke to a sparkling wonderland, with rime and hoar frost sprinkled everywhere.

As a lover of hoar frost and rime (and, I have to admit, all things chilly and gorgeous), I had to be out in it, of course. And conveniently enough, to witness the show, I didn't have to go any further than my own front yard. At the first touch of the sun, the frost evaporated into mist. So delicate, so lovely; and too soon gone.

Needles of ice stuck out from every bush and branch and twig (see extra photo). And on the Norway spruce trees that line the edge of the front yard, strings of diamonds had been gently strung: even the spider webs (see above) were covered in frost.

Side note on the spider webs: DANG, we have some HARDY spiders! I spun a moment's fantasy where the spiders made the frost webs themselves, by shooting out frost crystals instead of regular webs. You know, like that blonde chick who shoots ice from her hands in the Disney film, Frozen. . . .

I am one who tends to be out and about to see nature's wonders, no matter the temperature or the conditions. I have witnessed some fine things, but I can't recall a more amazing little icy-frosty event. Two thumbs up, Mother Nature! It was a fabulous job of decking the halls!

The tune to accompany these two frosty images of Mother Nature's finery is Neil Diamond, with Deck the Halls/We Wish You a Merry Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.