FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Escape to Mars

Listening to The Martian on Audible on my daily commute whisks me 33.9 million miles away (or 249 million miles depending on if the Earth and Mars are in opposition to the sun or not).

I'm yet to see the film starring Matt Damon and have another 7 hours 48 minutes of the story until I finish the audio book.

I'm on chapter 10 of 26 and I'm gripped. The narrative is full of problem solving, technology, science, psychology and it certainly gets the grey matter working.

So far the only part I don't like is the character of Nasa's head of media which I think is unrealistic. She seems a stress head and overly aggressive which would be (in my humble opinion as a PR professional) unlikely for someone in that position where a calm, rational personality would be imperative when dealing with crisis media for a Mars Space Program.

Quite frankly I feel tempted to run away to another planet when faced with leaving and returning to the house in the dark every day so what happens next with The Martian keeps me occupied. If you haven't tried Audible I highly recommend it.

Next book to download might be the Harry Potter series narrated by Stephen Fry. I hear it's excellent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.