Nativity

Back to work today and off to Newark, New Jersey. It was a bit of a nightmare getting to work. I got wind of an 'incident' on the M4. A truck had jack-knifed causing a 6-car pileup and traffic was extremely slow. Since I didn't know how how bad that would be I chose to drive the 'back roads' through Maidenhead and Slough. Not a great alternative as they are also busy and even more so with many doing the same thing I did. So my 35 minute journey took 2 hours. I was only about 15 minutes late for work so it could have been worse. I can't wait to get back to later trips! I hate arriving at work with that kind of stress. And neither do I like leaving for work 4 hrs before my report time!

Anyway, it was a mostly pleasant flight and when we got there I enjoyed a Thai meal in the evening with the crew. We stay in a suburban area of New Jersey and the 'Village Green' has some beautiful Christmas decorations, including many lit up trees and the Nativity Scene. I'm grateful whenever I see the Nativity scene - always a good reminder of the real meaning of Christmas amidst the commercial emphasis.

Im also grateful to have got to work safely and more or less on time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.