Church of All Saints

I wasn’t intending to head straight back to Weston today but, given I had my camera and the sun started to creep out as I approached the turning, I enjoyed another little look at this Norman church from, I have discovered, the twelfth century.  

I like the fact it was saved from the Victorian’s idea of 'the right shape for a church' and therefore retained its ‘squat and broad’ shape which is what attracted me to it yesterday.

Herbrand Vavasour Dawson, and his wife Grizelda (what fabulous names!), used to live next door in the huge mansion with a separate banqueting hall building. It sounds like he was a real community man and his family still live there, I believe.  

I was put off by history once I hit secondary school's date-driven teaching style;  dates have never been my thing.  Our form teacher, the head of history, was devastated when his own class (with me in it) had the worst history scores in the whole year.  Needless to say, I dropped history as soon as I could.  But, I had enjoyed it until then and the little snippets that I read about today were fascinating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.