Chitty Chitty Bike Bike

Going out with Little Dog, I felt a bit jaded and, despite the full sun forecast, I was pleased this morning to hear double rain on the window.

Looking out, I spotted a few greenfinches on my feeder mixed with the usual herd of goldfinches. I haven’t seen them in our garden since we left our old house over ten years ago.  I heard they’d taken a massive hit but at the time, no-one seemed sure why.  So, this has given me great pleasure to see them today.

Amazingly, after eating lunch, I realised I fancied a bike ride.  Although the sun still hadn’t really materialised, off I went. Without checking Ilkley Chat on fb for the flood situation. It hadn’t even crossed my mind!  I was a little surprised as I cycled nearly at eye level with the river on my way to Otley.

I felt remarkably good and concluded that if the huge black cloud ahead of me didn’t do anything much, I’d continue on to Addingham.  It sidled past me and that, I thought, was my sign. In retrospect, it was perhaps the sign that the river was up and there would be a lot of water on the road.  In fact, a huge amount of water on the road.

At the golf club, I created my first bow wave that went right over my knees from the extra river that was flowing generously across my path.  My overshoes weren’t designed to prevent water seeping upwards.  That’ll be the worst of it, I thought.  

Four cold baths later, I was pleased still to be upright. This was particularly true as I headed towards a man walking in my direction while I was about to cross the final River Ilkley.  When I felt my bike wheel lose contact with the road and take a little spin that lasted a little too long, I really did feel in deep water!  I wasn’t perpendicular to the floor any more but miraculously, I didn’t take a side dive in slow motion like I was picturing.  Oh for a fantasy bike with automatic stabilisers and floats.

What did amuse me a little while later was heading towards a couple of blokes on bikes coming the other way giving me a ‘you’re going to get wet feet’ look.  

I gave them a ‘you have no idea’ look back as I happily splashed through their puddles.

Somehow, I think I managed to cycle the route pretty quickly.  Maybe to warm my toes up.  I was buzzing when I got home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.