Outskirts of France

That good old Yorkshire forecast of dry weather was in force this morning as I set off in the drizzle. With Rich not able to have a long ride today, I took advantage of him being in and out of the house with Little Dog and set off towards York.

Hoping for a longer ride but without too much ascent, east is really the only option.  It's  never going to be my favourite direction but I did get into the spirit of the ride, rather enjoying myself.  I skirted round the outskirts of Leeds before heading up towards York and cutting left back towards Wetherby.  A little error (adding a few extra miles) about half way round found me heading past these sunflowers; I could almost believe I was in France. There was a huge flock of goldfinches enjoying the seeds in them. I don't think I've ever seen a field of sunflowers in the UK before.

After whiling away a few hours, I arrived in Wetherby for lunch but concluded in the busy cafe, I couldn't risk a lengthy wait for hot food. Plumping for flapjack and a coffee, I headed off again after a quick chat with a couple who were sitting outside in the 10 degrees warmth of December. Quite a treat to cycle in too!

Home. Jaded. Lunch. Dinner. Strictly. Bed. Hula Hoops. Mint tea. 9pm. Sorted!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.