The Lake

It's such a glorious day today, we took a bit of time out and went for a walk around the lake.  Plus we also wanted to play with our latest lens - which is awesome by the way.

I think I saved a life, but chose not to blip it because it's a bit gory.  I heard the most awful ruckus going on - a sulphur crested cockatoo was going ballistic, and I investigated, and saw a little furry blob alongside the parrot.  The parrot was trying to dislodge - or massacre - a tiny ring-tailed possum.  Poor little thing - I know you're not supposed to interfere with nature, but I couldn't stand by and watch it happen.  So I shook the branch the bird was on, and it flew away - stayed in an adjacent tree for a while before coming back to try again.  More branch shaking, and eventually the bird flew right off. I know enough about these parrots to realise that it would only wait a while before coming back yet again, so I took advantage of the lull and belted back to the ranger's centre to report it.  They sent a ranger straight out to deal with the parrot.  It's not like the cockatoo wanted something to eat.  They are just nasty destructive birds once they get the bit between the teeth.

Anyway, the Lake looks really serene, and we sat by the water for a while before coming home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.