pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Fantastic Family Fun

I just love family time and today has been one of those days!

An early morning, when the birthday girl enjoyed opening presents sitting on the end of our bed in the traditional way. Then car packed up and we were off for a 2 hour 45 minute drive to Hoddesdon for our big family gathering.

It has been such a special day. Jon's mum & dad plus Sal, Allison, Matt & Sophie made the journey down from Cambridge. Jenny & Laura from Hoddesdon & Manda and family from Ware. Then a special visit from my Uncle David, Aunty Sue and all of their family, my cousins Louise & Kevin and their children. It has been a long time since we all got together. David is not in the best of health, but we all laughed together, reminiscing on years gone by, what we got up to as kids, how proud he is of us all now. It was nice for mum to spend time with her brother, and important to have time for us all to just be in each other's company. I have taken millions of photos on my proper camera but as we won't be home until very late tonight I've taken this one of 6 cousins together. My 3 (on the right) & Manda's 3 all looking stunning. I love them all.

Such a lovely day. Thank you mum & dad for allowing us to use your lovely home. Thank you to Manda for coming over & organising us & for all my lovely family for joining us to celebrate our special girl's 18th birthday. None of us are getting any younger, but days like these make you appreciate your family and all you have. I feel grateful & lucky for mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.