Baubles

I remember writing after Miss L had her first blood tests done that if I never had to go though that again it would be too soon.
This morning it was Miss E's turn.
I dropped Miss L at school and then carried on to the doctors with Miss E. In the car on the way I got her to apply the EMLA cream (otherwise known as Magic Cream) to her elbows (or cubital fossa as we prefer to call it!!)
She sat down in the chair pretty bravely but then all control and bravery deserted her and she started wailing before the nurse had even laid a finger on her. 
It was awful.
But eventually - after being pinned down by another nurse - they got the blood. Pints of it by the looks of it!
She wailed most of the way back to school, couldn't get out of the car, couldn't put her coat on, couldn't open the door.......
I tried to explain to her that there are different levels of pain; a scale that doesn't start at 10.
And then I felt like a mean mum.
The rest of the day was mostly spent drinking tea and lounging about. I just couldn't find any motivation to do anything!
I went to pick up the Little Misses and collect their end of term bagfuls - chocolate, Christmas cards, pictures, wreaths, calendars, wellies, coats, books, crap from their desks and other miscellaneous items!
I could barely make it out the door for all the bags I was carrying!!
But they've broken up and we eventually made it home.
Just time to cook their dinner before heading over to Milton Keynes for the Year 3 mum's Christmas party. 
What a great night!! Lovely company and hours of fun dancing and laughing at drunk people!!
It was quite a big venue with lots of different Christmas parties going on and good Lord above there were some sights to be seen!!
I managed to stay out until about 12.30am when I decided my bed was calling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.