An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Goldilocks and the 4 chairs!

Backblipped02.07.12

Marion arrived at noon to spend the afternoon with Alan so D and I had our 4th attempt in as many weeks at having lunch out!

Just 50 yards from our front door, a beautiful 5* hotel has opened and we've been dying to try their Grill Room, which promises amazing steaks and freshly made burgers from their very expensive grill (the actual grill cost 30 grand apparently! I'm thinking that perhaps it's not a George Foreman! :-) Anyhoo, today was the day!

Now I know it's a 5* hotel and I know as such it will have a very posh dining room but for some reason I expected the grill room to be a fairly casual in its fanciness. Wrong! It's absolutely bloody gorgeous! Thankfully I had put on some lippy and dragged a brush through my hair the pink velour track suit didn't really fit the occassion though! :p

Just got settled when a group of 6 came in and sat at the table next to us and I locked eyes with one of the woman and we realised we knew each other! It was a mum I supported though work a number of years ago but haven't seen for about 5 years. I knew she lived in this neck of the woods and had been meaning to look her up! It was lovely to see her and after a hug and a big hello we had a laugh at bumping into each other in such a grand place when in reality, we're more suited to bumping into each other in the local coop!

D and I each had the house burger and they were enormous!! I have to say, I was like Joey from Friends by the end of it and suffering from the meat sweats! Nice! ;-)) Next time hahaha...check me out...next time....like a 5* hotel is going to be my regular haunt! I will stick with a salad! Didn't even have room for dessert!

Afterwards we headed off to Doune Antique and Art Centre it's becoming my regular haunt on the hunt for kitchen chairs for our battered, old, antique kitchen table. We found 4! Yay! Pre-loved posh term for second hand ladder back chairs with nice carving and reed seats. A quick test of each chair told us they are comfortable and functional. Sold for a fraction of the cost of new ones. Only two more to buy and I love the idea they will be different to these 4.

Only one problem....those with legs longer than mine and let's face it, that will be 90% of the population! may struggle to get their legs under the table whilst sitting on them. Hmmmm......given that David is 6' 3" he is now sitting rather far from his plate! Think we'll need to speak nicely to the local joiner and ask if he can raise each leg of the table by a couple of inches. Alternatively we can stick a brick under each leg!

Nothing's ever straightforward, is it?!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.