The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Oplatek

...or Polish Christmas Wafer. See here for details. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christmas_wafer
Very bad picture, but I always seem to be laden down with bags every time I see a sight worth blipping. Later, the light has gone. UK Winter is a severe challenge to my blippage.

I had asked one of the Polish mothers of the children in nursery if she could get me some oplatki so we could have a Polish celebration at snack time before Christmas. She duly brought me some, and today we broke the wafers and shared them. I can't say that the children were massively impressed or even interested....

Polish and Scottish are the only two non-English (and I mean English, not British) nationalities represented in nursery at the moment. Too bad we won't be there at Hogmanay :)

After nursery I went to a WEA social /party, and after that to visit my friend Karen, who used to live in the same street as me, but has now moved to the other side of Stroud. I've missed her, though I've hardly seen anyone for the past year because of my work committments. These have now changed, and I am beginning to resume my social life. Karen liked the range of cards I'm now selling: one more customer! It all helps.

Karen drove me home, and I started doing more paperwork vis a vis the cards. Wrote a few more Christmas cards, and I am now heading off to look for my Christmas jumper. It's the school Christmas party tomorrow. Big day: no swimming but a visit from Santa instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.