The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Rebirth of the Blanket Box: a One Street blip

Today was party day at school. It was a bit low-key compared to usual, and we had had to cordon off part of the nursery as some building work was being done. Still, we had a good day and it was my last one at work this term. Also, my first and last climb of December, with Lea Anne Now there's just the packing and organising to do, and what I hope'll be the last first and last funeral of 2015 to attend.

On the way back from nursery ( I missed the bus, what's new) I caught sight of what I realised was a new shop in Gloucester Street, my One Street on blipfoto. On closer examination, it turned out to be a metamporphosis of the old Blanket Box shop on Lansdown, which sold second hand furniture, into the Blanket Box upholstery shop. It looked a lot smarter and brighter than in its former incarnation. By happy coincidence, I was going to to the library in Lansdown, so I was able to snap the old shop premises too.

Top: the old shop in Lansdown.
Bottom: the new upholstery shop in Gloucester Street

The shop that formerly occupied these premises, Haberdashery Twist, has gone up in the world, Literally and Figuratively, having moved to the High Street. I blipped it last year before the move, when it was still a new arrival in Gloucester Street. See here. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4877597

The One Street project has made me, and keeps making me, look at 'my' street with fresh eyes. So much change keeps occurring in such a small area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.