Bathing beauties

Today we honour Mum on the 83rd birthday.

She chose this delighful picture of her with her sister Kathleen at Little Manly Beach. Mum say's the Pohutukawa tree they're standing by is still there today.

Little Manly isn't far away. Maybe I can get a photo of her in the same location before I return home. Mum thinks their bathing suit (or costumes as they would have been known then) were probably hand knitted.

The photo is taken in 1935. Mum was 6 years old.

A raging storm this morning, complete with driving horizontal rain didn't dampen the promise of breakfast at a local cafe. Plenty of cards, gifts and visits including Jennie and Nick as they passed through enroute for Auckland have filled in the day.

The day has calmed and I'll take the opportunity to get some fresh air before I prepare dinner. It promises to be good.

Wild venison back strap steaks (thanks to the hunter) served with a black current jus, roast spuds, pumpkin and kumara, and a selection of greens. Followed up with boysenberries, brown sugar meringues from Matakana, amazing vanilla ice cream and whipped cream for dessert. I expect the Pinot Noir will be bearable too ; -)

My challenge will be to deliver 5 steaks just the way each they're requested. It won't matter. For Mum the delight is spending her birthday with her family.

Happy birthday Mum.

My time here is precious and my blip time is even scarcer than usual. Bear with me, I will be back on deck.

Back blips.

Sunday - Together

Monday - Prime meats

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.