Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Cleaning house...

My reward for vacuuming today ... while I was cleaning one of our guest bedrooms, I spotted this multicolored Asian lady bird  beetle on the windowsill.  I quickly scooped it up on a leaf and scurried outside, lugging my little light box in the other hand.  While keeping one eye on the beetle, I snatched up one of the limbs we'd cut from our tree, jammed it in the light box and gently haphazardly  transferred the beetle to it.  Then, I thought ... hmmm, why not put something Christmas-y in the background?  So more scurrying about, all the while hoping the lady bird wouldn't fly.  And ... voila!  I'm calling it "Wee Wednesday in the Holiday Theme."  

Anyhooo, not my best lady beetle shot, but any sort of insect in December is a bonus, so I'm going with it.  Another version (sans bow) HERE on FLickr .

I can say with a fairly high degree of certainty that I'll probably be back to birds tomorrow.  And based on the forecast, they will probably be soggy birds. Sigh.   Hard to believe that I was stalking pelicans a year ago!

Cheers...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.