Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

It's like sunset at midday

I never thought I would say this, but I am missing the cold and frosty days of winter - we are having the mildest winter I can recall, we have not had any frost yet, let alone snow, and often I can pop out without even wearing a coat. I heard a news report that retailers are having early sales to move stock as no one is buying winter clothing as it has been so mild.

I spent the morning running around on errands - dentist, maintenance visit to chiropractor, groceries, (an enormous trolley load now that the boys are at home) and although the morning started out dull, by midday there was sunshine. On the way home from my errands I decided to pop into Claremont Gardens again as I drive right past it - and being a NT member means entrance is free - where I quickly took this shot of the sunlight at midday, which almost looks like the sun is setting. I liked the sunlight on the few remaining golden leaves on that tree. At this time of year I visit those gardens quite frequently for photographic inspiration.

Tonight is book club - yes it really is, last week I got the dates wrong but it is on tonight. I never read the book club book this month as I was so enjoying reading the Pulitzer Prize winning All the Light we Cannot See by Anthony Doerr - highly recommended. I am now reading the new Justin Cartwright novel, Up Against the Night which is very interesting to me as it is based in South Africa and covers some of the history of the boers and Brits settling in the country in the 1800's, including the battles with the Zulu leader Dingaan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.