Sevan

By Sevan

Mount Ainslie Again: Canberra at Night

The standard procedure for a week day off: get up, and feel like a housewife for cleaning the kitchen. I spent the rest of the day slightly more productively, by moving furniture up into my room. It feels more like a room now, as opposed to a squatters den. The electrician also came round and fixed the power, apparently by just flipping the fuse switches...but THREE of us tried that already...strange...

Later on I spent just over an hour walking to north-west O'Connor to pick up James' spare bike from his girlfriend Jutta. Unfortunately, it's so much better than the super rad pink one I was using yesterday, so I'll have to use it from now on. Jutta was super friendly, and even offered to lend me a spare heater until things warm up. An offer I'll definitely take.

After dinner I started throwing the idea around with Werner about climbing Mount Ainslie at night.

About 20 minutes later we were climbing Mount Ainslie at night. What better night to do it than one with a full moon? We didn't even need a torch. Had a great time sharing a bottle of wine (for the warmth) and talking about physics and such on the way up, only to be rewarded by some pretty amazing views. I also saw my first, second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth wild kangaroo. As a rule of thumb: every animal native to Australia is hilarious. One can only imagine what New Zealand must be like...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.