Dolly In The Tree

Today I share another one of my favourite Christmas decorations. This one is one of my more recent ones - bought 3 or 4 years ago. I think it depicts a 'handbag dog', which Dolly definitely isn't! But I do love how much it looks like her!

I had a bit of a panic with the tree when I got home from Washington today. The tree is one with the lights already part of the tree, which I love, but even though it has served me well for a number of years, I know there will likely come a time when the lights fail. So when I couldn't get the lights to turn on today I thought that time had come. I tried several things including changing the fuse in the plug and trying all sorts of spare bulbs I'd saved from other lights over the years. None were the right size.

Finally, I looked again in the tree box, and found a small packet of bulbs taped inside that I never realized were there. I changed the TWO fuse bulbs and presto! The lights were back on and now Christmas can proceed as scheduled! There were numerous other bulbs that also needed to be replaced so I used up all my spare bulbs. Alas, after a long search online, I don't think I can find anymore spare bulbs so if this happens again it may be the end for this tree, at least in its pre-lit form! I do so love not having to fight with a tangle of tree lights!

Moral of the story - when you buy a pre-lit tree, make sure you buy lots of spare bulbs right away, as in 8-10 years you'll probably never be able to source them!

One day at home today and it was filled with lots of busy things, so I was grateful for time for a 3-hour nap after working all night. One more trip before Christmas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.