BikerBear's Blips

By BikerBear

The Seward Highway, Alaska

The road from Anchorage to Seward runs along the Turnagain Arm body of water near Girdwood. The views are spectacular!

This was taken around 10.30pm - it did not get totally dark until midnight!!!! Feels very weird - light at midnight.

Try larger

My hotel is all it promised to be from the pictures and, as I sit up in bed this morning posting yesterday's blip, I can see pine forest covered mountains with snow running down the sides ...... the clouds are covering the tops and it's BEAUTIFUL!!
There's also a bright red helicopter buzzing about contrasting with the green.

Weather looks cloudy but bright with specks of blue here and there.
Today I am going to look for a glacier described to me by the guy behind the reception in the hotel - instructions were "... when you see all the cars parked, drive another 500 yds, walk approx 1 mile along the trail and there will be the glacier.... no need to be taking the boat!..."
I think I will be needing my insect repellant as the mosquitoes look the size of bumble bees!!!!

More later ............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.