One click at a time

By KeithKnight

July Challenge - B - Books, not Kindle

I work with a lot of high technology (we describe it as the bleeding edge, rather than the cutting edge or leading edge), so people are surprised when they learn that despite having a decent laptop (I earn my living with it, so worth the investment) that I don't have an iPod, iPad, MP3 player, PS2, Wii or a Kindle. I don't even watch TV, so no TV license.

There's a simple reason that I don't have a Kindle, which can be seen by the contents of my bookshelves, firstly there are a lot of photographic books, Kindle does not have the quality of the printing in the books, secondly many of them are in Colour, Kindle is only greyscale. Also, I can lend these books to friends one at a time, without having to lend the whole bookshelf!

I centred the focus on the book which describes how Ansel Adams took the original of the picture that I copied badly last month. You can also see the influence of Ansel Adams in other books there, the Zone System, invented by him (and still in use in Silver Efex Pro), Sierra Club publications, plus others on Monochrome.

Even the title of that centre book - The Making of 40 Photographs speaks of him - for he always referred to making photographs, not taking them.

The lens that I took this with - another piece of old technology - my fastest lens, also featured in here last month.

So for B - Books, not Kindle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.