Occasional Musings

By cookingisgood

If in doubt - play with macro...

...was a tip given by a comment from a friend yesterday...which I thought it wise to exploit today.

I was suprised how alien this plant looked when I saw it on the big screen...although didn't realise the foreground would be so out of focus (lots to learn). Tinkered a little using the basic effects in Picasa, so there's a *little* colour enhancement and a touch more shadow, but not much.

You nearly got a blip of my homemade sliceable soup but I thought I'd save you that dubious pleasure for another day ;-)

Tomorrow's blip may have real people in it as I'll be away from the plant in the afternoon...we'll see :-)

*********************
Oh... and can anyone please give me a simple description of what is meant by "depth of focus" as it relates to different types of shot... I realise it's probably a dumb question, but it's a term used a lot round here... is it literally how much of the perspective of the shot is in focus, or something a bit more technical?? Thanks x
*********************

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.