Bonsai Pine

The sun came out. There were dramatic skies. There was beautiful light for photography. On a weekend when I've been struggling to find any energy for anything, it was just the tonic I needed. I set out for another long run on the moor and found myself heading west and going as far as I could, over towards Windgate Nick. On this very far side of the moor there is a plantation of pine trees, not too densely packed so there is plenty of light and space. It has a character all of its own.

I doubt too many people know of this place I call the gnarly forest. The main track leaves it well alone and you enter it by way of an inconspicuous gate and a little used path. These pines do not grow tall and straight. They are twisted and stunted, especially as the forest thins out at its edge. And then there are these outliers, the bonsai pines, totally exposed to the elements. I find myself very drawn to these tenacious little trees. 

After yesterday's long run I was a little concerned about getting out and doing the same again, but the niggles held up well and I felt strong on the way back, albeit with the wind helping me. It allowed me to feel optimistic about doing some racing in the coming year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.