pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Christmas - the prequel

We had a struggle to get up early today after a late night, but I knew I had mince pies to cook. So I got up to make the tea at 8.20 ish and while there rolled out my pastry.

By 9.30 we were all up, mince pies were in the oven and dogs out being walked. At 10.50 we left for our drive to Melbourn for the Christmas get together with the rest of the Gibbs family.

We arrived just after 1pm and sat down for dinner. In total 16 of us. The mince pies went down well as always, plus Mollie & Henry's truffles were delicious! We all had a personalised cracker made by one other family member, with hats, jokes and a carefully selected gift (budget £2). Consequently they come in all sizes. We had an enjoyable day of quizzes, games and lots of laughing - especially when trying to do a whole family photo on the timer - I think it took 5 goes to get something which wasn't blurred - anyway it is not often everyone can make it, so it was an opportunity not to be missed.

As it wasn't my camera doing the group picture, and not everyone wants their photo plastered over my Facebook page anyway, I took this one of our hosts as today's blip. I'm sure extended family will enjoy seeing John & Win looking so well.

Now we have the long drive home. Jon's turn as I drove down...oh & also I'm practically falling asleep. Looking forward to this week. Although I'll be at work all week, everyone is at home getting ready for Thursday night's visit from the big man in the red outfit. Just a bit of tidying to be done and a turkey to purchase, while I finish buying the last few presents in Norwich. Counting down....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.