Advent Blip Calendar No. 21 - St Paul's Cathedral

It's been a week today since my first dry needling session and what a difference it's made! I'm a different person - no longer hunched over in pain - now walking in a far more upright position, and, unsurprisingly with a smile on my face. I'm nowhere near my previous fitness level, but at last I'm starting to see some improvement in my back and I can begin to envisage a more active future. Touch wood!

So this evening, 6.5 weeks post op, I felt I could travel into London by train and meet intothehills (Guide, trainer, mentor, blip friend and also 'real' friend), for a few celebratory drinks and a bite to eat. We were wandering (albeit at my tediously slow rate) beside the Thames, when I saw St Paul's on the opposite bank and knew Sir Christopher Wren's 17C masterpiece and it's reflection would be my blip. Not berries, but a very suitable image!

The cathedral's sheer size and the whispering gallery captured my imagination as a child, as did stories of the huge construction project and of the Great Fire which destroyed the cathedral's predecessor. It's perhaps even more impressive illuminated at night in our modern world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.