Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Cardiff Cathedral

I was supposed to have a day off today as my friend who is a central heating engineer/plumber was to be here all day replacing the sink in our en-suite with a vanity unit (I cracked it!), sort out our leaking swing tap in our kitchen, and doing the annual boiler servce.

My 'boss' rang me to tell me of the schedule jobs over the Christmas period and which ones I wanted, when a call came for one in Cardiff.

After finishing I made my way to Llandaff Cathedral, Cardiff where I took this 180 degree in camera HDR (High Dynamic Range) picture of the Jesus Christ statue created by Sir Jacob Epstein. Llandaff Cathedral was constructed in the 12th century over the site of an earlier church.

Epstein's aluminium figure of Christ in Majesty (made 1954–55), is suspended above the nave on a concrete arch designed by George Pace.

One interesting fact bout Llandaff Cathedral is that it was the worst damaged Cathedral after Coventry Cathedral during the second World War (2 Jan 1941).

On getting home, I was told I needed a new kitchen tap as ours was broken, and the boiler needed a new part, which he will have to collect and fit tomorrow - more expense!!!

(For those intrested the picture was processed in Kodak Porta 160VC (vivid colours) fine grain preset that was in production 2002-12, via DxO software.)


I've included a black and white of the normal view inside the cathedral plus a close-up of the statue, if you want a closer look.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.