Port-an-Eillean

Port an Eillean  (it is spelt that way on the sign by the road but I suspect Eilean should have only one l ) was where Hamish Carmichael and his mother lived when we moved to Glendaruel 23 years ago.    His family had been there for generations and I think it is still owned by his nephews or nieces but they are not permanently in residence. 

Hamish worked for the Council and drove one of the gritting lorries in the winter .  You always felt safe when you saw him in front of you, treating the road  or ploughing the snow and making sure people got through.

He also liked a drink and I remember Cathleen and I taking home one evening from the pub and virtually pushing him in , as we did not want to confront his mother given the state he was in.  But we did see her at New Year when we would usually call in to say hullo. 

Hamish very tragically fell over the sea wall one night on his way back from the hotel.   By the time he was found he was almost dead and could not be saved.  The whole community mourned and he is still missed.  Very few pass this place by , I suspect, without thinking of him. 

I have always thought the setting of the house is one of the most beautiful in the area and today, driving along the shore road , as it is called, I was struck by the colours and the light and the view and just had to blip it.  

And remember Hamish. 

(My extra photo is of the gnarled tree at the gate of the house, which has taken over an old stump and sits like an alien upon it) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.