Warriors Past and Present

It was another beautiful day today. After my long day in Manhattan yesterday I didn't wander very far this morning. Went for a walk which included a long stop for coffee and a muffin which amazingly I was able to enjoy while eating outside as the tables were in a sun trap. Considering that this part of the world is usually covered with snow in December, sitting outside is not to be taken for granted.

I enjoyed some of the town's window displays, including these 3 snowmen.

The statue is called 'The Patriots Farewell'. Not a great picture for the detail, but I kind of like the silhouette against the blue sky and the American flag (See Extra photos for a closer view).  This area was very much in the thick of the Revolutionary war.  The inscription on the statue reads:

'A Monument to the New Jersey Militia and families whose sacrifices created a strong and enduring nation'

And then for warriors of a completely different kind!  Next door to the hotel is a movie theater and of course everyone has gone Star Wars mad!  Just as I was leaving the hotel for the airport, Darth Vader and 2 Stormtroopers wandered through the lobby. I presume they were fans in costume?  I caught them just in time to get a few pictures, including one with me which is in 'Extra photos'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.