The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Raptors In The Rain

It seems to be raining photo opportunities here and Ant Hill (our newly christened name for our home!).

Last Sunday I got some unbelievable shots of a Green Woodpecker feeding on the lawn ... and today, after three years of just missing it, I finally, finally, got my Sparrowhawk photo.

If there was any doubt what actually happened to Padraig now I think we can lay it to rest ... he most certainly became Sparrowhawk food! I have no idea what got caught and what was eating, but it didn't die in vain! I have some of the feathers in the kitchen in the hope someone can ID them on twitter for me. I suspect it was a Great Tit.

It has been a rough old day for the birds in my garden today, there is a new cat appeared, and he took a Blue Tit fledgling this morning. I do all I can to stop them catching birds, but it is impossible to stop them completely. It is strange how two predators can arouse such passionate debates. Most people marvel at a Sparrowhawk kill in their garden, as it is nature at it's rawest, but then balk at a cat kill. At the end of the day, a cat is still a predator, and yes I know they don't kill for food which is the biggest issue, but they have only been domesticated for a few hundred years or so, their hunting instinct is way to strong for them to resist!

Bevosity was right ... I did finally get that Sparrowhawk shot I was finally after!

Six more and the woodpecker shots can be seen in my Back Garden Nature Summer 2012 flickr set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.