WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

La Deuche

A Citroën 2CV, affectionately known as une deuche, or une deudeuche in French (short for 2 chevaux), and a Flying Dustbin in English -- spotted in Lézignan this morning. It's quite an unusual model I think -- the soft top rolls right down to the rear bumper, making it a totally open car. So I googled it, and it's the first-generation "Ripple Bonnet" 2CV, built from 1949 to 1960; the canvas back marks it as pre-1955, so it's probably older than I am. Someone has really looked after it.

They were real workhorses in their time. For many early users, they did in fact replace a horse and cart -- hence the ingenious foldable everything, which meant you could stuff all manner of things into it. And the high clearance and distinctive squishy suspension meant you could drive it practically anywhere. Production ended in 1990, and you don't see many of them on the road now, or hear the distinctive whine of their engine.

They weren't renowned for their performance; I still remember the day in 1983 when we were puffing up Crickley Hill in Gloucestershire in my friend M's elderly 2CV, with five people in it. We were going more and more slowly -- third gear, second gear, first gear, the engine was labouring, we were making little progress ... "Quick!" cried M, "turn the radio off!" I did and we made it to the top of the hill and the pub.

Edit: I forgot to mention that the water was a smidgin warmer today. I was there when the pool opened, and I had it to myself -- I love it when that happens! But I only had time for 10 lengths.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.