WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Untidy

Today's blip is not exactly a masterpiece of aesthetics. But it's been a while since I blipped any vines, so I thought I'd show you how they are getting on.

This is the same plot I blipped here. Visitors from Bordeaux and other more northerly wine-making regions are often rather shocked by the state of the vines here in summer. What a mess! But there is method in it; the leaves shade the grapes from the glare of the sun, stopping them from literally getting sunburnt. You can just see a few grapes on the vine on the right. This foliage is particularly abundant, thanks to all the rain we've had. And you won't see as much on vines which are en espalier; these old vines are pruned en gobelet, in the traditional way.

Yesterday, I posted my 183rd entry, so I'm exactly halfway through the year! It's all downhill from here :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.