Jelli-art Printmaking

I've been experimenting with my Christmas present today.  I was introduced to this by one of my Hot-Bed Press friends and these are my very first experiments with these initial layers only surviving digitally.  I overprinted and then overprinted again, so they look nothing like this now, but it was good to experiment and play with the technique.  Looking at the one on the left I think I can make out the beginnings of a dome shaped church (venice gets everywhere, even when I don't realise it) and at long last I've found a use for the cur-up cardboard packaging that often surrounds fragile items bought online from Great Art.   The extra photo is a page from my journal where I've rolled out the colours I used on the second layer and included one of the pieces of wallpaper that I was using to create textures.  I haven't kept a journal as I've printed before but I liked this idea which was mentioned in the Jelli-art (for dummies) book that I also had given for Christmas.  (I bought the acrylic paint myself as the tubes I already own are a bit too firm for this kind of work.)

I think I might try to work something up on the Venice theme next.  I'll need to make a dome shaped template to press into the wet paint which hopefully will work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.