Immature

Swept a second third of the deck area this morning, and stopped without finishing so as to not tire myself. So what did I do after lunch? I rescued the third compost bin from where it had been left, levelled the ground next to the other two bins, and then shifted the almost ready compost from Bin #2 into Bin #3. Then moved the composting material from Bin #1 into Bin #2 to sit and mature. This leaves Bin #1 to continue as the bin into which kitchen and garden waste and leaves etc are put. I was very hot and tired by the end of that. The good news is that by ensuring that as much as possible I didn't use my left leg to prop with, it was not discomfited by the work.

In the morning I got photos of greenfinch and sparrows on the bird feeder. I also had some reasonably good photos of a piwakawaka (fantail) which was brought close by my sweeping the deck; disturbed insects. Unfortunately, many of the better ones (in terms of focus and fanned tail were bum (as in rear end) shots.

In the middle of the day the adult tui were courting or playing or both. Stayed too much under the leaves, and were very quick moving.

Late this evening, I had taken a walk outside to turn off a hose (we have had little rain at the beach, and would welcome a little of what England has suffered with) when a bird sounding in flight like a tui and moving like a tui and looking like an odd coloured tui, perched on a branch of a pohutukawa near me. 

Its colour appears slightly more bronze than it probably is, because of the effects of the low and setting sun. However, the immature tui is brown, and has little of the colour shown by the adult. The chin tuft is sparse in the immature, as seen here. The white wing flash seems more obvious than in the adult.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.