Flying low

A stunning day weather wise today. Little wind, an almost cloudless blue sky, and the sun beating down to keep us warm. Did very little, although towards the end of the afternoon, I did sweep some of the deck to shift the pohutukawa leaves which the winds of the last week have blown down. 

The bird feeder has again attracted sparrows and greenfinch. One greenfinch is quite clearly the bird I misidentified last weekend as an immature Common Redpoll. I did think that I was being a bit hopeful, and so it has turned out as this juvenile greenfinch has dull streaks on its chest. I have posted a photo of it as an extra.

Mid afternoon I heard a motor mower engine (by the sound of it) coming from below us. Where there is cliff face, beach and bay. Then this chap flew past having climbed slightly higher but still barely at the same height above the sea as us. Half an hour later he came back, somewhat higher and heading back towards Sandspit. This time I had my camera ready.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.