Success

After a day of resting and reading, at 6 pm I went to Western Springs Lake for a walk with my camera. I thought that I already had a photo for today when I saw this Kawau tuawhenua (also known as Great Cormorant, or Large Black Shag) surface. I had the camera at the right settings, and was able to focus quickly and got this one plus the one in extra, which was taken immediately afterwards; there was one second between the two photos and a second later the fish had gone. When I got back to the apartment and looked at the photos on my MacBook, I knew I had my blip.

However, I deferred posting it until after we had come north for a long weekend at the Beachhouse. I had been certain this was a Kawau tui (Little Black Shag). But then wasn't sure. So I needed to spend a bit more time looking at the books and the descriptions. I have decided it is a Kawau tuawhenua because of the shorter bill, and the yellow around the base of the bill. 

As I noted above I spent much of the day reading. Yesterday, I started to read The Girl in the Spider's Web, which is the continuation of the Millennium series. I found it to be as good as the last of the Stieg Larsson originals, and I related to the characters in the same way as I had on reading Larsson's books. David Lagercrantz has written a good sequel, which I finished this afternoon; couldn't put it down

Already feeling peaceful here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.