Room 101: apostrophe misuse

I hate the misuse of the apostrophe! It really bugs me. There are more and more occasions when the apostrophe is missing often because its use is not understood. Street names are a prime example where an apostrophe is needed. The sign above should be written St James's Way or St James' Way to show that there is only one James. I agree it's a little more complicated when the word ends with an s but bit that tricky!

My daughter lives in Georges Hill. I am bothered by the lack of apostrophe every time I go past the sign. If there was only one George then it should be George's Road.

Into Room 101 I would throw all those who put signs in public places where an apostrophe is missing or in the wrong place.

Thanks to Skeena for hosting MonoMonday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.