Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Night ski racing

We did not ski today - instead Gavin and I had some things to do in the village and went for a walk enjoying the sunshine. It was another beautiful day, there were people out and about walking their dogs and some were paragliding in the calm blue skies.

I spent the rest of the day working on my events that I am organising for the committee, and before I realised the time we had to leave for Davos for the night time ski racing. Thomas did not want to race...until some girls he liked knew asked what his race number was and then all of a sudden he was keen to join in! I tried to take some photos but without a flash, not having the right lens and being so cold that my fingers would not function I did not get great shots. This shot was taken with a very high ISO and is quite noisy - it is of some racers doing the course inspection before the race started. I have included an extra shot of the boys before the race.

The course was quite icy and had some nasty turns, but they all managed to get down without falling. Prize giving is tomorrow night so we are not sure of the results, but Adam did the course in 1minute, Luke in 1 minute and 1s, Thomas in 1 minute and 3 seconds and Gavin in 1 minute and 20 seconds. One of their instructors from years gone by, who used to ski for Switzerland, completed the course in 53s!

By the time the racing was over I was pretty frozen and was happy to be back indoors again. The boys loved the racing and are now planning to come out for the next race in February - but they will be at university so it won't be possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.